What's new

Please recommend me an adjustable stainless steel safety razor

I am new to wet shaving, my first DE razor is Muhle R89, as it is one of the obvious choices for a noob.
I know it is Zamak but I wanted to check whether DE razors are suitable for me at all. Now I saw that is much better than using expensive cartidges such as Fusion 5, I would like to buy an adjustable DE razor.

I don`t plan to be a collector for now, so I need a stainless steel razor that will be suitable for all types of hair growth.
Are there any other options for an adjustable stainless steel besides Rex Ambassador and Tatara Muramasa ? They look marvelous, but they are too expensive for me. I know Rockwell 6S is a so called adjustable, but changing base plates mid shaves for second and third passes - I think it will not be practical.

So please recommend a good value for money adjustable ss razor.

If you consider the Rex you should put eyes on the Pearl flexi. Shaves similar, but better because of less blade feel and much less drag in the skin. Its not stainless steel but machined brass, much less expensive, around 70 Euro.
I don't have another option for an adjustable in your price range...

To your info, I have the Rockwell, the Rex, the Flexi, the Progress and the new Yaqi Adjustable. And I had a Gillette super adjustable and tried the slim and the fat boy. The vintage Gillette are much overrated IMHO.

Every face is different but I think if you can be happy with coated brass the Flexi will be a real winner for you.