What's new

Please explain how, with all else equal, the edge on a full hollow grind is keener than a half or quarter hollow grind.

steveclarkus

Goose Poop Connoisseur
I have read in quite a few places discussing SR grinds, including on B&B, that the more hollow the grind, the keener the edge can be honed. Hollowness of the grind doesn't affect the bevel angle (does it?).

Assuming that all other factors are equal, how can the hollowness of the blade's grind affect the keenness of the edge?

Please keep your answers simple. I'm only an engineer.
I don’t believe that is true. I prefer more hollow grinds but my heavier grinds are just as sharp. Defies logic.

I would assume that two razors with the same width and spine thickness would have the same bevel irrespective of grind.

Whether one prefers to shave with a wedge or extra hollow will have more effect than the blade itself in my opinion.

I would agree with statements above - (same bevel angle = same potential to sharpness), regardless of the grind.

I don't agree with statements that it will feel the same shaving, there is a district difference between the feel of a heavy grind and a very thin hollow grind. Apart from the audible feedback, very thin grinds flex to some extent, which for me, makes a difference in the comfort of the shave. I struggle to get the same quality shave from a TI that I get from a Solingen blade, both are equally sharp, but I suspect that the TI blades are stiffer and less flexible.

I would also add that thin hollow grinds will be easier to hone as you have less metal to remove, so maybe lesser mortals, like me, will not have the ability to get a wedge to the same sharpness as a thin hollow grind.

Last edited:
I am fairly new to this, but I thought this was the product strategy. If you want extra hollow, you get the Evide Sonnant line. If you want slightly thicker, you get the Le Grelot line. 🤷‍♂️