What's new

Please explain how, with all else equal, the edge on a full hollow grind is keener than a half or quarter hollow grind.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I have read in quite a few places discussing SR grinds, including on B&B, that the more hollow the grind, the keener the edge can be honed. Hollowness of the grind doesn't affect the bevel angle (does it?).

Assuming that all other factors are equal, how can the hollowness of the blade's grind affect the keenness of the edge?

Please keep your answers simple. I'm only an engineer.

Because it says so on the internet so it HAS to be true... :biggrin1:

Always figured the hollowness couldn't ever affect the relationship between the spine and the apex because it's just open space. Not at all knowledgable enough on this but just drawing inferences. Perhaps blade flex can come into play here with using pressure in earlier stages of a progression? *shrugs*

Looking forward to reading this discussion.

The keenness of the edge depends upon the thickness of the spine relative to the width of the blade. That sets the apex angle. That can have a significant affect on keenness as well as blade comfort.

Then there is the fineness of the hones and any abrasive pastes.

The hollowness of the grind should not have any affect on keenness.It may affect the way the blade hones. For example, a full wedge razor (no hollow at all) would be difficult to hone because you have to remove steel from the entire face of the razor. Otherwise, you have to hone with a few layers of tape so the hone only touches the edge, but that then changes the apex angle. An extra-hollow-ground razor hones easily as the bevel is quite narrow.