What's new

Philips Norelco Series 9000 Prestige Electric Razor is the best electric razor I ever used.

Bob, they don't use that much electricity, or take up much counter space. Being that you can't take the shaving cartridge apart the cleaning unit does give it a more thorough cleaning. Cleaning solution is cheap if you make it yourself, heck you can even just use
Rubbing alcohol as the solution if you want too. Just remember to put some shaver lube on the foil, and cutters after the alcohol dries. As for brushes I agree they ought to include a cleaning brush. A soft toothbrush does work though.

Clayton

Sent from my SM-A705U using Tapatalk
Braun now combines the screen and cutters together into a single cassette which is more difficult to clean than separate parts but it doesn’t seem to make any difference. I have been using this shaver for nine months without rinsing the cassette and nothing unusual nor bad has resulted. Obviously, the inside of the cassette is not surgically clean but neither has any other previous screen shavers I have owned. My previous shaver was a Panasonic ES8103 which I rinsed weekly under running water with a little liquid hand soap and was not surgically clean. If whatever is left in the cassette after tapping out the clippings was harmful or contained pathogens, then the cassette would have developed an odor or the screen would begin to irritate my skin. I would certainly clean it more throughly if I was sharing the shaver with other men.🤮

Unfortunately, counter space on my bathroom sink is at a premium. If I was going to make my own cleaning fluid I would just forego the cleaning station and just soak the cassette in isopropyl alcohol.

BTW my Braun shaver did not come with any lubricant.

Here’s what the owner’s manual says about cleaning:
Cleaning with a brush
• Switch off the shaver. Remove the Foil & Cutter cassette (1) and tap it out on a flat