What's new

Pepper Spray

Claudel Xerxes

Staff member
I don't know why, until now, I haven't seriously considered getting pepper spray for a situation where a threat needs to be delt with in a non-lethal manner. One could imagine that most sprays are not created equal. Any recommendations on what type or brand I should think about getting?

For what it is worth...
Consumer pepper spray is not as strong as what law enforcement carries (although it has been a while since I was a police officer). It will do the job if needed. From my understanding Sabre makes a decent product, I have no experience with it. I would read up on, a simple Google search, the different types of spray. According to Pew Pew Tactical, CN and CS are military produced irritants that work by causing pain. OC, or pepper spray, is an inflammatory that not only causes pain but also causes inflammation of the mucous membranes around the face, making it difficult and painful to breathe or open the eyes. To me, the most important thing to remember... Whatever you use can always be used against you. Meaning, if you carry it be ready to use it. This product is only meant to buy you time to getaway. I hope that helps somewhat. 4 Best Pepper Spray for Self-Defense [Tested + Video] - Pew Pew Tactical - https://www.pewpewtactical.com/best-pepper-spray/:

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
Pepper spray is some good stuff. I believe the Punch brand we used was 5% capsicum...I'd have to dig out my old can. It works very well...99.9% of the time. I like the cone spray pattern (like a hair spray pattern) better than the stream or foam gel. It spreads out better so if you miss a small target they will get the fog over them. The wind messes with the cone pattern more though. OC doesn't need the area decontaminated like the old "tear gas" sprays did, it will naturally decompose.