What's new

Pass-Around! Two Modded GD Razors and a Pasted Balsa Strop

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
Well I finally got around to putting scales on these two GD mods and honing them up. I promised some time ago to pass one around with a balsa strop, so those who have never tried this method of edge maintenance can have a go and experience a Method edge. So far I think I have:

@steveclarkus
@buca3152
@MilkCrate
@EB Newfarm
@KW Driver
@Sinnbad11

The idea here is a recipient keeps and uses the gear for a week or two, then ships it to the next person on the list. CONUS only, please. At least for now. Happy or unhappy or unimpressed one way or the other users can post their results and opinions and add to the knowledge base. This is definitely NOT meant to be a way for a complete beginner to experience his first straight shave. The idea is to compare the pasted balsa strop maintenance and finish to what you are already using. I will probably post a youtube vid on proper use of the pasted balsa strop soon. In the meantime, read up on The Method. The razor should be stropped lightly about 50 laps after each shave and this should keep the edge going for the life of the passaround. After about 30 uses, they diamond may need refreshing. I have included some extra diamond paste for this. Be sure to apply it as per the pasted balsa strop thread.

To be put on the list, please already have at least one straight razor and at least 10 successful shaves with it, and at least 50 posts, and a CONUS mail address. Put "Put Me On The List" prominently in your post.

Last edited by a moderator:

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
Thank You Slash for a GD66 Pass Around, but not in lol being the other side of that big pond......

Hey Ian, once everyone interested in CONUS has had a crack at it, maybe we will send it off to Euro Land, and let it be Euro zone only for a while. Or UK, wherever the demand is.