What's new

Opinions: Keep or Throw Back?

I'm still new to the safety razor realm, and don't have a great deal of experience regarding what is and what is not a major alignment issue. Long story short, I have right of refusal on this razor and would like opinions on whether it may possibly be fixed. Opposite side is undamaged, and the razor is in overall good shape
IMG_7262.JPG

Probably repairable (hard to know from a pic) and while a nice semi hard to find piece I wouldn't overpay for it. Condition is everything to me anyway.

The alignment looks to be quite off but can be fixed. The "spider" assembly, as Gillette referred to it as is misaligned right now and the razor has to be somewhat taken apart to address the issue. I don't feel comfortable working on TTO's yet so this would be out of the question for me to repair myself and if you wanted a professional to do it it could get expensive. If you didn't pay less than 50% of what one would cost in similar condition without the problem, I would throw it back.

R

romsitsa

Throw back (to me).
Early models tend to have this problem, guess this is why Gillette introduced endcaps after the war.
While it is a major alignment issue, it can be bent back into position. If you don't feel comfortable fiddling around with brass ask someone, who does such repairs, for a quote.

Adam

It’s fixable. The knurling shows little wear. At the right price it’s a winner, and a great candidate for a replate.

BigFoot

I wanna be sedated!
Staff member
As Doug said that’s an easy fix. You may never find another Aristocrat.

KeenDogg

Slays On Fleek - For Rizz
I'm on the it's an easy fix and if the price is good for you, go for it train. That's one of my grails, I'd be all over it if the price was good for me.

Kindly,
Adam

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member