What's new

Older Newbie

Hi all!
After perusing the site for a week or so and looking at the array of resources available here I thought what the heck.
I have more questions than answers which is surprising since I have been shaving for more than 50 years!
About 18 months ago I decided to take a look at DE shaving (again) so went about buying my kit.
I have in my possession a non adjustable 1954 Gillette (dated Z) in gold. Very nice condition and purchased off ebay. I am using a soap from the Australian Natural Soap Company which is palm oil free and vegan. Not that I plan to eat it. I have been using Gillette 7 O'clock permasharp stainless which are made in India.
I have two brushes, the first is a Kent VS70 which seems too hard a bristle and I no longer use it. The second is an ever ready 400 PBT pure badger which seems to work OK.
Yesterday while looking through an antique stall I found a NOS Henso (J A Henckels) razor. It looked nice so I bought it! I know nothing about it but it feels and looks sturdy.
After shaving with the above combo for 18 months I still have irritated skin about 30% of the time and regularly nick my neck.
I suspect after looking through a few posts that I have a few technique issues and I probably leave the blades in for too many shaves.
I would appreciate some feedback on changing to a new soap and the best place to purchase?
As I have not experimented with blades at all, what would be good one to try?
Also seeing as I have "the bug" I was considering another razor perhaps a Gillette Fatboy or a Mercur?
The dollars are not as important as the result to me.
I look forward to your help and suggestions.
Regards
Dizzyone

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
As you are not eating your soap, give Arko or Tabac sticks a try. They will also serve you well if/when you get into straight razor shaving.

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.