What's new

Oil Based V. Water Based Pomade's

Water Based or Oil Based Pomade?

• Water Based Pomade

• Oil Based Pomade

• Both

Results are only viewable after voting.
We have the Renaissance of Pomade thread, but I thought this is better suited as a separate thread. My question is fairly simple, Oil Based or Water Based Pomade? Why do you choose or prefer one over the other? If you could only have one pomade would it be oil based or water based?

I was initially concerned about the oil and started with layrite. But, I picked up some SGB and haven't looked back. So, oil based for me. It looks better and doesn't have the crunchy texture that water based do.

I've tried both and prefer oil based, it just seems like my skin can't take it. I break out pretty bad close to my hairline. That causes me to stick to water based. That's still way better then gel for me.

tankerjohn

A little poofier than I prefer
I'm just getting into it, but I'm liking oil-based for the traditional feel and price. Not nearly as hard to wash out as I thought/feared.

I've just started in this (wonderful) world of pomades. Water based for now, because I'm concerned for the "staining-removing" issue... but I know I'll end up trying the oily ones.

I use both almost on a daily basis. I just use a small amount of water based pomade on top of my oil based to make sure my part and cowlick stay in check.

I use both almost on a daily basis. I just use a small amount of water based pomade on top of my oil based to make sure my part and cowlick stay in check.

Other way around for m. Oil based on top of water based. Washes out a lot better for me.

I also like the smell of many oil based pomades better. Water baseds seem to have a sickly sweet processed candy smell, while oil baseds have a more refined and sophisticated natural smell

Oil based, no question.

+1