What's new

Odd recipe request - pizza without cheese

No, I'm not a bug and pine cone-eating hippie (just joking, no offense personally to vegans) but my three year-old son is allergic to milk. It's different and more severe than "lactose intolerance" which most people respond to us telling them our son is allergic.

Anyways, I want to make a pizza he can eat. I've checked into all of the so-called non-dairy cheeses and soy cheeses available in my local stores and guess what...they DO have milk ingredients in them. Probably not enough to harm a lactose intolerant person but with an allergy, you don't take chances.

Not thrilled about tofu as a substitute so that's out.

I'm thinking along the lines of a Pizza Margherita with a tomato and EVOO topping, but will probably add some meat and veggies too.

Does anyone have any good recipes or ideas for a pizza without cheese? I'm a pro at pizza making, I've been a manager in a few pizza shops in my lifetime and still "wow" people with my pizzas, especially my chicken & spinach Alfredo pizza with homemade Alfredo sauce, or my grilled BBQ chicken, bacon and ranch pizza using ranch and BBQ sauce in place of tomato sauce.

Obviously those are WAY off-limits for my son. He loves any and every vegetable pretty much.

SO, when I think of recipes, I come to the obvious place...my favorite shaving forum. :laugh:

That's actually a very good question. I know of someone who eats very little cheese on his pizza because of issues with lactose. He has a lot of spinach put on the pizza basically in place of the cheese. I think it looks disgusting but it works for him. Maybe it would work for you too.

Nothing odd about that at all!
I'm lactose intolerant and I find that most pizza you can make without cheese.
A nice one to try right away is a bruchetta type pizza.
Make up some fresh bruchetta mix, be easy on the oil, don't add any parmesan.
put it on your crust as the sauce and add appropriate vegetables, maybe some meat if you desire.