What's new

Nicks on my strops

hello all

I have been having a problem with nicking my strops and was wondering who else this is happening to.

I am right handed and the heaviest ones appear on the lower right hand side but also - though lighter - on the upper left hand side. And in both places they peel away from the center of the strop. I have three strops and the same thing happens to all of them. While I am stropping there never seems to be any problem, i.e. I’m not rolling an edge.

Would this be due to stropping technique or maybe the way I’m honing my blades?

Someone please help me save my strops

It sounds like you’re flipping the blade before coming to a complete stop. I have a real shallow nick on my strip that I’ve been using for about 18 months.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It sounds like you’re flipping the blade before coming to a complete stop. I have a real shallow nick on my strip that I’ve been using for about 18 months.

This sounds probable.
When I show someone how to strop the end of one stroke ends with the blade facing up- spine on strop. The next stroke begins and ends with the edge facing up - spine in contact.
If the cuts were just at the lower right side I would say try lowering where your strop is attached but seeing it is happening at both ends then the blade is still moving when the flip occurs.

This sounds probable.
When I show someone how to strop the end of one stroke ends with the blade facing up- spine on strop. The next stroke begins and ends with the edge facing up - spine in contact.
If the cuts were just at the lower right side I would say try lowering where your strop is attached but seeing it is happening at both ends then the blade is still moving when the flip occurs.

I think we’ve all done it. Just go in slow motion at first and come to a complete stop, then turn the blade.

I think we’ve all done it. Just go in slow motion at first and come to a complete stop, then turn the blade.