What's new

Next step: scuttle(s) or turkish bowl?

What should I get next for bowl lathering?

• Total voters
I've been wet-shaving for nearly two years, now, and using straight razors for one year and a half.

So far I have enjoyed my Ikea bamboo bowl for lathering, that I got for less than 5 €, but now I feel I'm ready for the next step, and I'd like a bit of advice: should I get a turkish copper bowl, the hammered kind, or a scuttle?

And the scuttle should be a ceramic one like the PAA Crown King (black, I guess), or the polypropylene shatterproof travel version?

Nothing too fancy, I just have to replace my wooden bowl and I like shatterproof things. The hot lather in winter / cool lather in summer tickles my fancy, but I don't sneeze at less-than-10€ turkish bowls, either.

TL;DR
Should I get:
  • a turkish bowl, hammered copper (outside) and tin (inside): around 8 - 10 €, shipped;
  • a PAA Crown King ceramic scuttle: I guess 40 €, shipping to Italy included;
  • a PAA shatterproof scuttle: in the 35 € area, shipping included;
  • another brand or model of scuttle, still in the 30 - 40 € budget zone.

Thanks. :001_cool:

I have the PAA moonscape and the PAA shatterproof scuttles and I love them. They are reasonably priced for what you get. The moonscape is my mainstay and the shatterproof is when I go on trips. Can't go wrong. Now seeing that you are not in the US, you may also want to check out local pottery places and see if they offer anything similar. After I got my scuttles, I happened across a local pottery place that sold scuttles very cheaply. If I had not had the scuttles already I would have purchased it. Enjoy and have fun.

there's something very pleasing about a warm scuttle on a cold day for me. I've been face lathering for years, but I have a one off (dad's wife made it for me) brush scuttle that keeps the brush/lather warm between passes.

TexLaw

Fussy Evil Genius