What's new

Newbie starter deal

I don't know if this should go here or in the Shopping & Deals forum; someone let me know if this should be moved.

I don't know if this has already been shared by anyone or not, but I received an email from Thompson Cigar advertising this newbie starter deal. Actually, the email originally offered it with a 20-count cherrywood finish wooden humidor, but their site says they're temporarily out of the humidor. Having no equipment currently, I thought the humidor would be a better choice for me than a travel case. But, they're hedging on offering a rain check for when the humidor is back in stock, so I haven't pulled the trigger on this.

Anyway, being a complete newbie, I was wondering about the cigars included in this deal (either this deal or this one). Most of the comments say that, while the cigars are not the greatest, they're not the worst either, and they're great for newbies. I'm just wondering if you all concur.

Thanks! :001_smile

Stay away from Thompson Cigars, and any of their "specials". Just my opinion from personal experience. Try cigars international or cigarbid.com for good starter packages, never had a problem with them and they don't harrass me unmercifully with phone calls and e-mail for 6 months after a purchase.

Commander Quan

Commander Yellow Pantyhose
I am on my phone and the thompsons page was taking too long to load so I didn't look at it, but I would look around before you buy from thompsons. One you get in their system they have a reputation of unwanted solicitation, and constantly trying to push their own cigar labels on you. Also the #1 rule for humidor buying is buy one bigger than you think you will need. When you hear a humidor will will hold a certain number of cigars that is almost certainly corona sized cigars so if you smoke robustos, toros or other wide cigars it will hold less than the 20 or 50 count.