What's new

Newbie Re-do

Chef455

Head Cheese Head Chef
So I have been shaving with DE razors for about 4 months now. I started off with a Van der Hagen tto that I purchased from my supermarket after loathing shaving with cartridges for years. I have since joined the forum and will never look back.

Of course having joined I have stumbled into a few rabbit holes. Many soaps, creams and aftershaves. Needed at least one of each kind of brush (still lacking a horse hair). Samples of blades ensued. And, ah yes, razors...

Merkur 34c
Edwin Jagger DE89
Muhle r89
Gillette 195
Gillette Red Tip
Gillette Black Beauty (birth year and 1/4)
Gillette slim adjustable AND an Aristocrat for good measure
Feather Popular
You get the idea.

After the Van der Hagen I went to the 34c and noticed an improvement. Then the Muhle and EJ89 were even better. Then came the vintage Gillettes, not so great, which was very disappointing. Ok, back to the 2 or 3 piece moderns and cruising right along. I just picked up the 1-9 Aristocrat yesterday, $20 was too good to pass up, and had a terrific 3 pass BBS shave with it. After my disappointment with the slim and fat boy I was surprised . However, I don't think the gold plating is what made the difference. I imagine that over time, unbeknownst to me, my technique had gradually become better.

With this dramatic revelation I have come to regret not heeding the advice of "stick with one set for a month and THEN try introducing some new stuff". So I will begin anew. 1 cream, Feather blade, 2 synthetic brushes rotated every other shave. The remaining factor to decide on is which of 3 razors. Merkur 34c, Muhle r89 or EJ89.

Any thoughts on the razor? Anyone else find themselves in a similar situation and want to join me and share their experience? I will stretch my month out to the end of February. That will be a solid 6 weeks to redeem myself for not focusing on getting my technique down prior to going a little crazy.