What's new

(Newbie questions): Dorko - what have I got and how do I fix it?

Hi all,
I'm new to this but want to get into shaving with a straight razor. My uncle gave me one that he no longer uses, but it's not shave ready yet. I don't know much about it so was hoping some of you on the forum could help me out with some details. It's a Dorko, which I gather is a good brand, but I read there's a big difference between their top-of-the-line and their lower end razors. Two issues I'd like to sort out with it before I start using it:

1) The blade doesn't center in the scales and there's a bit of play in the pivot pin. It's enough play that if you hold it on it's right side and open it, you'll hear it 'ping' as the scales pluck the edge when it opens. Even worse, if you try to close it in this position, the edge actually nicks into the scales. This has happened, and while I don't see any nicks in the edge, I'm sure it's extremely hard on it and want to fix this before I get it honed.

2) If the solution to problem 1 does not involve replacing the scales, then I'd like to fix the metal logo pressed into the scales. When my uncle shipped it to me he used a bit of tape to keep it closed. When I pulled this off, it started to lift the metal logo off (see picture). Any suggestions on how to fix this? Does anyone know what the scales are made out of? Is it a thermoplastic (i.e. one that can be melted)? If so I was thinking of pressing a soldering iron against the metal logo till it just melted the plastic underneath to stick it back down.

A couple other questions:
- Can you tell me approximately what it's worth? Not that I'm looking to sell it, but if it's valuable then maybe I'll buy a cheapie to learn to hone on, or get any repairs done by someone with more experience.

- Is this an appropriate razor to learn on? Not sure if it's fully hollow, 1/2 hollow, etc..., not even really sure on the size (seems somewhere between 6/8" and 7/8"). Is this a bit big to learn with?