What's new

Newbie question(s)

Hi everyone!! I tried my first straight shave this morning and compared to my DE it seemed quite tuggy. Is this normal? It was tugging bad enough that I switched to the DE for the first pass and did most of the second pass with the straight. I bought the straight shave starter kit from razor emporium with a Gold Dollar which is supposedly honed. I guess what I’m wondering is if you think it’s the razor or technique or both?
Thanks!
Dave

Last edited:
Was your razor properly honed and stropped??

Also, you might check in with the guys on the straight razor forums.

Was your razor properly honed and stropped??

Also, you might check in with the guys on the straight razor forums.
Thanks, I’m still figuring out how to navigate the site. It was supposedly honed and I tried to strop it but I’m a newbie so I’m sure technique is a factor

My first SR shave seemed 'tuggy' as well. I had it come shave ready from a very reputable individual who restores SRs professionally. It quickly improved as my technique improved.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Welcome to the forum Raymond.

It can be difficult for new straight razor users to ascertain true shave readyness of a razor. There are tree topping tests and such, but they are very subjective. Maybe add your general location and someone close to you may be able to give it a look.

Welcome to the forum Raymond.

It can be difficult for new straight razor users to ascertain true shave readyness of a razor. There are tree topping tests and such, but they are very subjective. Maybe add your general location and someone close to you may be able to give it a look.

I have since ordered a new Dovo and paid to get it honed, I haven’t received it yet but I’m anxious to see how it feels comparatively. I’m in the Atlanta area if anyone is or knows a honemeister nearby.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk