What's new

Newbie: Pre-First Shave

I'm beginning the straight razor journey. I'll be buying a razor in the next day or two.

It started out of town. I travel for a living, needed a haircut, and happened upon a place that gives a neck shave with a straight razor. (Probably a shavette.)

I was stunned at how close the shave was and, given my sensitive skin, how good it felt afterward.

I began the deep dive into the world of shaving research. I realized, no matter what razor I use, I wasn't doing my skin any favors with my pre and post shave routines. I've ordered some real shave soap, pre-shave oil, a brush, and aftershave balm. Those will help even before the razor.

You'd cringe if I told you my prior shaving habits.

Oh, and went to a local barber shop to get a straight razor shave to experience it. It was nice. I was a tad disappointed that the first and last passes were with an electric. Felt like it wasn't the full experience.

Ah, but the razor. So much information to sort through. I think I know my preferences but I also realize they may change after shaving.

I'm probably going with a 6/8. Strongly leaning toward a Dovo. Probably round tip unless I can find a good value on a Spanish or French tip. I don't want to nick myself, and for the most part I plan on a clean shave across my entire face. But I'd eventually like the ability to shape a goatee if I so choose.

Still trying to find the best value. I'll be getting a beginners stroke but will have the blade honed professionally. Probably get my own honing stones eventually.

There's lots of places to buy. I see that West Coast Shaving offers (what appears to be) free honing services with their blades. Looking at them and a couple of other shops. And suggestions?

-Rouxblade aka Scott

If you have your heart set on a Dovo then buy one. Having said that however it’s more important that whatever straight you buy that it is delivered to you truly shave ready. I don’t know if WCS’s blades are truly shave ready.