What's new

Newbie looking for advise

Hello people.

I'm fairly new in this whole new world of wet shaving. I've always had a lot of ingrown hairs and neck irritation since i started shaving. When i didn't needed to shave, i started to use the Phillips OneBlade electric, but lately i've been thinking of joining the military of my country (Colombia) so i started to shave again, trying to achieve that irritation free shave.
First, i used the Gillette Skinguard, that had 2 blades and i got a decent shave, but i couldn't get 2 consecutive shave without getting massive irritation on my neck. Then, I bought the Vikings blade The Chieftain JR, Nivea Shave Cream and the Pacific Shaving Co. after shave.
I tried a lot of razors, based on people experience and comments and I ended with two razor blades, the Astra SP (Green) and Gillette 7 o' Clock SE (Yellow) but i can't get more than 4 days without getting a lot of that neck irritation and the last day I even get razor burn on my chin side.

I came to look for a little bit of advise, to what I could use, if I need to change my razor, my cream or aftershave. I already did a shaving map, only do a 2 pass shave, shave with cold water and use an alum block after shaving.

Thank you everyone in advance, and I'm sorry for the english, not my main language.

Eben Stone

Staff member
Whatever you change, just change one thing at a time. That way, when you do find a solution, you will know which thing it was that solved the problem.

Maybe you're not doing enough skin stretching? For the neck, try shaving towards the stretching fingers instead of away. Just be very aware of where the fingers are so you don't cut into them.

Maybe your lather is drying out? If you usually start your passes with the checks first and neck last, then try neck first. Or apply another layer on the neck immediately before shaving it.

Hope you figure it out.