What's new

Newbie. Just bought these. Identification help.

Hello,

I am new to shaving with a safety razor and I managed to find these at some antique shops.

I am hoping to get some help with identifying two of the three I bought.

I believe one of the three is a Eclipse Red Ring.

One other has Gillette printed on the underneath of the head (the very short handle razor) and the razor with the flip open head ohas nothing printed on it.

Also what would be the best way to get these clean and looking in good shape again.

Thanks.

Attachments

• 20220618_145431_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145431_mfnr.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 64
  • 20220618_145450_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145450_mfnr.jpg
    696.4 KB · Views: 55
  • 20220618_145500_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145500_mfnr.jpg
    606.4 KB · Views: 48
  • 20220618_145513_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145513_mfnr.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 48
  • 20220618_145524_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145524_mfnr.jpg
    640 KB · Views: 44
  • 20220618_145540_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145540_mfnr.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 43
  • 20220618_145557_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145557_mfnr.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 40
  • 20220618_145606_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145606_mfnr.jpg
    762 KB · Views: 39
  • 20220618_145624_mfnr.jpg
    20220618_145624_mfnr.jpg
    542.1 KB · Views: 64
Well, its certainly would seem that you found a pretty rare razor as far as the Eclipse is concerned. Nice catch. I am going to suggest the short handled razor is an Old Type Milady Decolletee from the mid to late 20's. The last one looks like a 50's Flare Tip Rocket. Cleaning...soak in a warm wash of dishwashing liquid and water. Scrub with toothbrush. Then you can use Scrubbing bubbles as well. Metal polishes are perhaps next to remove some of the staining. Nothing too harsh. There may be some pitting so a re-plate might be considered. The Eclipse is the real prize here and looks to be in very good shape as it is. I don't think I would re-plate either of the other two.
Check out the web page mr-razor.com