What's new

Newbie here, needing some veteran assistance!

Sorry for this wall of text, but I want to include as many relevant details as I can to help you guys out. There's a TL;DR at the bottom.

So I got a Van Der Hagen safety razor to start out with. I'm new to this scene and didn't want to immediately invest my life savings into it haha. It comes with Timor Solingen Ice-Tempered blades. Supposed to be stainless, but the first one I put in got brownish rust looking marks all over it after shaving in the shower. Granted, I really didn't open it up and dry it off, but still, kinda surprised.

The first shave, I used:

So, the first shave ever. I took a nice shower, washed my face off with Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Face Wash, then washed my hair, then after showering the rest of my body I kept the water on and stayed in the shower to shave. I didn't want to step out into a colder area and risk the cool air drying and tightening up my skin. I got what I felt was a good lather, and went to work. How did it go?
It was extremely hard to get any hairs off going with or across the grain. I was still getting the angling and techniques down, but my angle was generally steep. The shave wasn't as painful as I was expecting., maybe due to the angle. I actually ended up going over the same spots many times, often without any lather, and sometimes putting pressure down. In the end, there was irritation as I expected, and a couple nicks here and there that actually closed up by the time I was done and got out of the shower. I guess running my face under the water helped clean up the nicks.

So that first shave was much more effort than I thought it would be. Not that enjoyable to be honest and it took a hundred passes in every direction to get a BBS feeling. But that post shave balm ooooooh man that stuff is like nectar for the face.

The second shave, I used: