What's new

Newbie here / My newfound horrible addiction

Heya all, long time lurker (sans-account), first time poster. Figured I had the "bug" long enough at this point, that I may as well get my feet wet in the proverbial swimming pool.

Anywho, introductions. I started on the whole DE / SE shaving bandwagon about a year ago by purchasing a Merkur 23c / Tweezerman brush combo, in an effort to cut down on shaving costs from my previous Gillette Mach 3. Fat lot of good that did me, since I now own something along the lines of 20+ razors from various years, along with multiple brushes and a shaving mug. I even display the vast majority of the things in my home bathroom - friends and family must think I'm absolutely bonkers for buying so many.

So, what do you folks do in order to keep yourselves from buying so many of these vintage little beauties? So far, I've collected:

• 1920's Rolls Razor - The hone is intact, and the set is incredibly complete, even has the original box and instructions.
  • A Modern Parker SR1 shavette - Tried using the thing about 10 times and gave up. I'm great with DE and SE, but could never get a good shave with this.
  • 1970 Gillette SS Adjustable "Black Beauty - A real great shaver that I got for free as a throw-in with other DE razor purchases.
  • Merkur 23c - The one that started it all. Pretty great, although I think I like my vintage ones better
  • 1930's Gillette NEW LC - Found this puppy at a flea market in a toolbox for $2. Beaten to hell and back, so I got it replated locally in bright nickel for $20. Came back looking like new, and shaves great.
  • 1930's Gillette NEW SC - Original gold plating still mostly intact, and shaves just as great as the LC variant.
  • A vest pocket travel razor from Argentina of unknown date. The seller said it was a military razor for the Argentinian military ~WW2. Who knows. It's neat though, and shaves pretty well despite its crazy small size.