What's new

Newbie here, having trouble with Gillette Tech.

Hello everyone,

I'm having issues with Gillette Tech (feather blade inside). When I shave with the grain or across the grain, I feel like it doesn’t cut anything at all (2 day stubble). The only area where I can properly shave hairs is just below the cheeks at the second pass.

Going against the grain is also really strange because the razor starts to cut like a cheese grater.

I know that Tech has a different cutting angle, but there definitely seems to be something wrong.

Just throwing random thoughts as I haven't used a tech in many a year. What is your shave angle like? Are you riding the cap or the bar? Either could be responsible for the blade not cutting if the angle is either too shallow or steep.

Another possibility is the razor has been dropped causing misalignment with the blade. This could lead to the cheese slicer feeling with one side and not cutting on the other.

I'm sure the tech guys will be along with more knowledgeable suggestions in time.

The Tech does not have a lot of blade exposure. That means that the effective shaving angle is quite narrow. You need to find the effective angle range and stay in it as you move the razor along the various parts of the face. Otherwise, you won't cut much, or anything.

Turn off the fan or music, try to listen while you shave. Listen to verify you hear whiskers being cut.

Put the guard bar on the face. Tilt the handle up until you feel the blade. Raise the handle a bit more. This is one extreme of the shaving angle range. The other extreme is where the blade, guard and cap all touch the face.

Keep the skin taut. Stretch the skin if necessary. Take short strokes. Maintain your angle. You won't need a lot of pressure as long as you have the angle dialed in. This will all become natural and automatic with some practice.

It might just be that particular razor, or the razor/blade combo.