What's new

Newbie checking in

I have been reading a bit on this forum and thought it was time to join. A bit about me: I am 59 years old, happily married and living in Sioux Falls, South Dakota for 13 years now. It's a nice place to live if you can deal with the cold winters and snow. I guess you could say that I am new to DE razors but it isn't completely true. When I was a teenager growing up in the late 70's I began shaving with a DE razor. I can't remember what brand or model but it was a butterfly type. I am sure it was cheap because my dad gave it to me and he was very tight with his money. I graduated high school (Houston, TX) in 1980 and I left for Navy boot camp a month later, where they immediately confiscated my safety razor and blades and had me buy a Gillette Trac 2? I guess it was taken to prevent suicides or something. I continued to use cartridge razors for the next 40 years. My cartridge razor of choice lately has been the Schick Hydro 3 and it has worked well for me. About a month ago I went to my local Walmart and all they had were a bunch of god awful 5 bladed razors. It pissed me off and I decided that I was done with cartridge razors so I did a little research and purchased a Rockwell 6S DE razor. I wanted a razor that wouldn't punish me too much as I relearn how to use a safety razor. I bought small packs of four blades, Derby Extra, Astra SP, Kai SS and Feather. I do wear a beard so mostly I am shaving just my neck, the patch of hair under my bottom lip and my upper cheeks. So far I have tried the Derby (not sure how much I like it), the Astra SP (much better than the Derby) and the Kai (also much better than the derby. I am only three weeks in using a blade a week. I am dealing with some minimal razor burn occasionally that I hope to overcome as my technique improves.

Welcome to B&B!!!
You should check out my "newbie blade PIF" in this forum!!! Simple directions if you're interested. You've pretty much answered everything here!!!