What's new

Newbie Check-In/Rocky Transition

Hello everyone! Just checking in here, and hoping to maybe get some advice in the process. While I'm new to the B&B, I've been DE shaving for some time now. However, I recently picked up (or rather, have been trying to pick up) straight razor shaving.

I have no problem with stropping, face prep, lather, or anything like that, but whenever I put the straight to my face is when things start to get complicated. I feel like I have the blade angle down pretty well as I have no problem tackling the cheek/sideburn areas on either side of my face, but I don't even know where to begin around the mouth or neck. Every time I try these areas, things get a little awkward. After suffering through one too many clumsy strokes, I get frustrated and finish the shave with the DE.

It's not that I'm too stubborn or unwilling to learn, it's more a matter of having no clue what I'm doing and not wanting to tear my face to shreds. After all, everything i know about straight shaving (an even DE shaving for that matter) I know from youtube and lurking the forums.

And so, I now turn to the kind people of B&B for any and all advice. I understand that there is a lengthy learning curve with any new form of shaving, but I figured it might be better to just ask than to try and go it alone. Thanks guys!

First of all, welcome to B&B!

Second, and this is going to sound counter intuitive, but don't be too timid with that blade. As long as you are not pulling it longitudinally across your face (slicing motion like cutting bread or something) you won't totally wreck yourself. Check out the Straight Razor forums here on B&B. There is a good tutorial sticky posted here. Read through that if you haven't already.