What's new

New Wet Shaver!

Hi everyone! As the title suggests, I am new to this and have just started on my wet shaving journey. Here is my current setup:

Handle: Wilkinson Sword (common variety, found on amazon and local pharmacies)

Blade: Derby Premium (bought a 100 pack), Wilkinson Sword (came with the razor, I prefer the Derbys though)

Pre-Shave: Coconut Oil (bought from supermarket, also use it for cooking!)

Shave Cream: Nivea Protect and Care

Aftershave: Witch Hazel and Glycerin (
generic pharmacy brands)

It has only been a few days since I have started my foray into wet shaving. Originally I was drawn in because of saving money. Oh man, I had no idea how much of a rabbit hole this can be! I now look forward to my morning shave as one of the highlights of my day.

Right now, I am saving up for some essential oils so that I can make some diy aftershave. I hope to explore other razors and blades in the future as I become more experienced.

I don’t really see any posts here about the Wilkinson Sword razor (only the blades), but I have been pleasantly surprised by its ease of use. Perhaps this is because I have no point of reference other than cartridges!

Anyone else start with the Wilkinson Sword? Any pointers or suggestions for next steps welcome!

Welcome aboard!

I suggest you read through the Wiki and watch a few videos: tons of useful information!!

Welcome to B&B.
I don’t really see any posts here about the Wilkinson Sword razor (only the blades), but I have been pleasantly surprised by its ease of use. Perhaps this is because I have no point of reference other than cartridges!
There are posts on the Wilkinson Sword Classic TTO razor; I see that model in supermarkets now. There are also posts about the plastic razor which I don't care for. Which are you referring to? Both are capable of giving you a good shave.