What's new

New to the forum/intersting question

I am new to shaving with a safety razor. (I'll never go back to cartriges) I have always shaved with cold water because someone explained the physics of temperature and steel to mewhen I was very young. It makes sense that cold water will keep the molecules tightly packed or bunched together therefore resulting in a sharper edge. Seems that heat would cause the steel to expand and would compromise the integrity of the edge. What do you guys think? Am I wayyyy overthinking things?

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
Welcome to the forum @WallyC33, great thought. I am sure others that know more about the properties of steel will chime in.

Welcome to B&B.
The edges on my preferred blades seem to cut very satisfactorily so I am not convinced ~ 50 degrees celsius makes a difference.

Welcome to B&B. I'd say what are relatively minor temperature differences in the scheme of things would make no perceptible difference to the sharpness of a blade. Certainly I've shaved with both cold and very hot water with identical or at least very similar DE and SE blades and did not notice any difference in their sharpness.
I prefer shaving with hot or warm water, and believe this gives me a better result, with more comfort, but others prefer cold water. In the end, I believe it's all down to personal preference, with little or no actual science behind it.

Welcome aboard!

I doubt that blade performance will be affected by the temperature range we are dealing with.

Hey! Welcome to the forum. I am new to wet shaving as well but I do like to use hot water as I also use it to clean off the blade as I am making my passes. I think it just helps clean the lather off the razor quicker but I have noticed that I do like to dip the razor into the hot water before I even start to warm the razor. I just started doing it one day and it just stuck. To each their own I guess. Do what you like.