What's new

New to straight razors. Looking for some help finding a product

Hi. As the title suggests, I'm new to straight razor shaving, having only used cartridges in the past. I've been watching videos about technique and styles of blades, and I think I'm ready to plan for purchasing one.

While I am a beginner, I'm not too worried about safety concerns beyond the obvious "this is a knife you're putting to your face" realization. For example, some places say to avoid kamisoris (namely the feather AC series) due to their higher sharpness compared to a western. I'm looking for something long-term (until I have enough disposable income to where I can afford multiple blades), and so I want to make a purchase right now that will suit me for when I am at a higher skill-level, even if it's less safe right now.

I'm familiar with honing (but not stropping) since I'm an amateur cook interested in kitchen knives. But I'm also open to disposable shavettes if they're worth looking into.

I guess I'm not really sure where to start or what I'm looking for. Currently, I have a relatively thick beard, and I'm looking to maintain that. Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thanks

I would suggest starting with a round point and 5/8 or 6/8. Round point so you dont stick yourself getting used to the angles (especially behind the ear), and size as its middle of the road and easy to find. :D

I have a Double Duck GoldenEdge that I find is a very very forgiving blade. You may want to consider one of those as a starter. If you want something brand new, Ralf Aust makes a nice blade that you can get fairly inexpensively.

Either way, make sure whatever blade you buy is truly shave ready. Depending on who you buy it from, you may even want to send it off to someone to get it honed no matter what they tell you as far as shave ready is concerned. And there are many folks here on B&B who are capable of doing that for you at a moderate cost (and sometimes no cost since you are new!).