What's new

new to frag: anything "natural" ?

salut,

As it is, I am not a fragrance wearer. I don't even use a scented AS. I use unscented Witch Hazel. But
I'm looking to change all that, yet still keep things very simple with a nice subtle frag that doesn't contain
a ton of synthetic ingredients.

I am in the market for a subtle fragrance. Its imperative that it be "natural". As to the semantics of "natural",
I'll leave that vague. . .

Is there such a thing as a natural cologne/frag? Where could I shop for such a thing if, indeed it exists.

i like vetiver, woodsy, and citrusy scents. Something dignified, but more-so "light", "unobtrusive", and "relaxed" -
these are probably terribly ambiguous descriptive terms but maybe they bring something to mind?

Any direction here would be most helpful.

Thanks sincerely. :001_smile

[i should mention that I'm a student and would hate to cause weird allergic reactions in my pupils or command an over-powering
scent that would surely annoy many] [hence the need for something subtle] [we sit very close to one another for long periods of
time] --

Last edited:
Synthetics tend to be the norm in what you'll find easily, due to price and IFRA regulations. It sounds like you're really looking for something subtle. Le Labo's Gaiac 10 might fit the bill for a subtle woody scent, but it's very expensive. Kenzo's Once Upon a Time Pour Homme is a good fresh/woody scent. Chanel Sycomore is an earthy, woody vetiver, but it's not inexpensive (Encre Noire is a cheaper alternative, but it's far louder and more synthetic, due to large amounts of Iso E Super, but it might still worth be trying if you don't over-apply). For a more citrusy, greener vetiver, Guerlain's vetiver is the standard, and Tom Ford's Grey Vetiver seems to have a lot of fans.

I've red somewhere that Parfumerie Generale makes some scents that are all 'natural' but they advertise them over here as 'completely biological'. Gendarme is supposed to be 'natural' too.