What's new

New Nikon(5600),Best prime lens please.

Hey girls and guys, as the title suggests, I am after a good prime lense for the d5600, I am tossing between the 35mm or the 50mm. I am aware of the difference between APC&full frame sensors, hence why I am asking?
My subjects will mostly be flowers and mushrooms (not that it is the time of year here for mushrooms in AUSTRALIA. But anyway. ). I would also like to take some nice portrait shots if possible. I am new to dslrs, so please be patient.
I did own a couple of film slrs, back in the day, but that was almost 20 years ago, and a lot has changed since then. So any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Peter.

Hi, I have been doing a lot of research recently. I think both a 35 and 50 prime lens are great and I eventually plan to have both, but think the 50 will be the first. For most typical portrait shots the 50 is likely to be better. For wider whole body with some background you might want the 35. For flowers and mushrooms are you expecting to take extreme close up shots? You might want a macro or what Nikon refers to as micro lens for that. I don't know that they do not exist, but i have not seen a 35 or 50 with macro in my research. I think Nikon does make a 40mm macro, you would have something between the 35 and 50 plus have macro.

Edit: BTW, like you I have SLR experience from back in the day but looking to get back into it. You are a step above me right now as I'll likely end up with the N3500 to start with and see where it goes.

I'm still very much a beginner photographer, but I've been working at it and getting pretty good results using a D3300.
I have the $200 Nikon 35mm prime, and it's a great lens; I've also rented the 50mm version and loved that too.
35mm is great for street shots, landscapes, groups, etc. 50mm is more of an 'multipurpose' length - decent at for both wide and close work, it's really going to come down to your personal preferences.

Two suggestions -