What's new

New here

Hello. I'm new to DE shaving. I came across my grandfathers old Gillette razors a 1965 slim, 1947-49 super speed and a 1959 fatboy. I wanted to know if these are good razors to start out with, are they too aggressive? Also for a first time user what would be a very forgiving blade to use? Thanks in advance for all your help!

Welcome Random. That's a great set of razors to have. The nice thing with adjustable razors is you can choose the aggression you want, lower number=less aggressive. You don't really want to start with a super sharp blade so I'd recommend Shark or Derby. They're what I started on and are very consistent and forgiving. Enjoy!

Welcome! The Slim and Fat Boy are two of the most popular razors as they provide a great shave and can range in aggressiveness. Start out at 1 and gradually increase if you desire more. Also, as others have said, get a brush and some shaving soap or cream. A blade sampler is one of the best things you can get as well.

Welcome to B&B. I also started out with my grandpa's razors. I actually had the fatboy and slim to choose from. I started with the Slim, but I've realized I like the Fatboy more. When I started, I just cleaned the razors up, ordered a cheap $15 blade sampler pack and a $10 tube of Proraso shaving cream from amazon, used my grandpa's old shaving brush, and started gettin rid of those pesky whiskers. Also, I set my Slim and Fatboy at the setting 3 when I first started out.

you got the best of the razors...wish i had a grandfather like yours :biggrin1:

as for blades..get few sample packs...and yea welcome to B&B :thumbup:

Welcome. I've only been at this for about 5 weeks now and the Super Speed is very mild, very forgiving. I have not had the opportunity to use the others you listed. Good luck and enjoy your shave.

Welcome to B&B.