What's new

New Guy

I'm very new to DE safety razor saving, but wanted to say hello. I have gotten lots of helpful advice searching through your posts. This is a great site with lots of beneficial threads...so many thanks. I have been wet shaving now going on 3 weeks. I have been using an electric razor for the past 15 years or so due to cartridge razors chewing up my neck....plus they are way too expensive.

I stumbled onto wet shaving a few weeks back and decided to give it a try. I'm in my 40's and never really considered the DE razor a viable option. I didn't even know you could still buy these types of razors until I started researching. I was hesitant to try a blade again, but what the heck, right? So I bought an EJ DE89l, some shave soap, and a badger hair brush and gave it go. Well the first shave wasn't so bad, just a tad bit of razor burn, but after about 5 shaves, my skin began getting used to having a blade scrape over it again. I bought a sample blade pack and have gone through several blades so far with many more to try.

I found out fairly quickly that not all blades behave the same and my technique is a little rough, but getting better. I did buy some Nancyboy shaving cream as well as some TOBS Jermyn St and they work great for me. I am finding out rather quickly that it's important not to skimp on quality products. Since buying my DE89l, I came across some good reviews on the Parker 26c open comb razor and decided to try it. What a great razor. It seems to be much more gentle on my skin than the DE89l....go figure. I've shaved with it 4 times now and love it. I highly recommend giving the 26c a try if you're considering an OC....very gentle, but close shaving.

Anyway, thanks for listening and I look forward to spending more time here on B&B.

Welcome to the B&B. Glad you're here.