What's new

New guy needing some product advice

Hi everyone:

This is an AMAZING forum and I need to spend time digging through past threads and soaking up some of this shave knowledge. But I am hoping I can get some direction on an immediate concern.

I have been using Art of Shaving products for maybe 15 years...possibly longer. The stuff is too expensive for what it is, in my opinion, but I have liked the product because they had an extensive line in unscented goods.

Slowly AoS has been phasing these out it seems. First, the unscented body bar disappeared. Now I see the shave soap is gone. While the shaving cream remains, I am not big on creams (although creams are more convenient when I am on the road). I worry that the pre-shave oil and the after-shave balm will meet a similar fate in the future.

I can't do perfumes and scents. First, I am allergic to most scents and perfumes. Second, I bath and groom so as NOT to smell. But I need recommendations for high-quality alternatives for unscented projects that will make me as happy (or, perhaps, happier) as AoS has.

My preference would be something I could get in a brick and mortar store in Richmond, VA (just because I am a poor planner and will forget to order until I run out). That said, I am open to products that are exclusively available online (or must be bought online because they are not locally available) if those products are superior to what is locally available.

Your thoughts?

It's hard to find any variety in actual storefronts, but if you travel to NYC there is Pasteur s pharmacy. I love the fragrances, but I know most of the artisan soap makers have unscented. You might try maggards or Italian barber websites for some samples

Egads! If only you could search those sites by fragrance... Any brands you would recommend exploring?

Welcome aboard!

There are few ‘great’ brick and mortar stores for shaving stuff. Sorry!!