What's new

New Boar Brush smell......(woooooof!)

a friend gave me an Omega Boar Brush.

i tried washing it, lathering it up 3 or 4 times but it still smells.

my badger brush didn't have this issue.

i'm new to boar brushes, so not sure if there is something else i should be doing to get rid of the smell.

any assistance is appreciated,

Tim

Just keep washing, sometimes it takes a bit of time and more than a few wash and dry cycles. I used a mild dish detergent with a lavender scent, soak, wash, rinse and dry and most of the smell is gone after a few cycles.

Rest assured the smell will dissipate with use, be patient.

a friend gave me an Omega Boar Brush.

i tried washing it, lathering it up 3 or 4 times but it still smells.

my badger brush didn't have this issue.

i'm new to boar brushes, so not sure if there is something else i should be doing to get rid of the smell.

any assistance is appreciated,

Tim

from another thread on how to get the funk out. Get some dawn dish soap and put in on the bristles and build lather in your palm with it, then get a big measuring cup make a warm soapy water solution, if you have real hard water you can add a little borax to the mixture. Let your.brush sit in the mixture for and hour. Take it out rinse all the soap from its bristles. Get your fav soap or cream build a lather leave the brush sitting upright with the bristles lathered for 24 hours. Then rinse it off the next day and no more funk.

Get a Semogue? Must be an Omega thing.

I've bought 4 Semogues and not one of them had any animal funk.

Boars aren't instant gratification on a number of levels, they need a bit of patience till they give up the goods. I think they're worth the time.

Get a Semogue? Must be an Omega thing.

I've bought 4 Semogues and not one of them had any animal funk.