What's new

New beginner here. Gaining experience and building the arsenal

Hi everyone,

Thanks to your posts, I am converted to DE world. Long time user of Machs family. First post and sharing my experiences.

I am using a Wilkinson safety razor and some cheap blades (Isana, the germans will understand me). I am still using the shaving gel with my hands. Don'
kill me yet.

I have tried to learn to use this razor. Even though I not getting my desired face smooth shave, I am glad that I am spending less time shaving and having lesser face irritation.

I have ordered online a Merkur Futur Clone razor with the standing for 12 usd from China. Waiting.

I will get a proraso brush (made by omega). Also a shaving cream from Palmolive or Proraso. Not decided yet on cream brand.

This is all.

I am reading that there is a large fun base of vintage Gillettes. I wonder if there are clones of them available.

Cheers to everyone.

Welcome aboard! Looks like you are doing well.

I suggest you read through the wiki and watch a few videos. Technique is the key to success!

Hannah's Dad

I Can See Better Than Bigfoot.
Welcome! Proraso is an excellent choice to begin your journey. And vintage Gillettes are a blast; but ease into your ‘acquisition disorder’ and focus on your shaving technique first. Good luck and enjoy!!

Welcome Albsat!

Baili makes a Gillette Tech and TTO (twist to open) clone. I haven’t tried those, or the Futur clone either. But I have read good things about all three of them. Lots of good info on this forum.

Welcome to the forum, @albsat! I don't know what your feelings are regarding shaving with a used razor, but there are quite a few vintage Gillette razors available on the market at relatively low cost. Enjoy your shaves! :001_smile

Welcome!

More important than equipment is preparation and technique.

What city or region are you located?

So glad you decided to join us.