What's new

need some help about a failure to feed issue with Wilson Combat 920 magazines

jar_

Too Fugly For Free.
I have a couple new Wilson Combat 8 round magazines that just enjoy giving me grief. When I first tried them the recoil ejected the magazine on every shot. Even though this was just with the new Tisas US. Army 1911A1 the only thing I could think of was that perhaps the magazine release button spring was weak. It only happened with the two Wilson mags, all the other magazines I owned, new and old worked just fine.

Even though the pistol that was ejecting the magazines at every shot was new I ordered some new Wolf factory 1911 magazine release springs and put a new factory spec spring in the magazine release and that solved the ejection problem.

But both of the 920 magazines still fail to feed the last round in the magazine consistently and in three different Tisas 1911s. None of my other magazines have that issue. Other magazines are from Mec-Gar and Check-Mate and Ed Brown & Colt (likely also Check-Mate). About half are 7 round and half 8 round. Some relatively new and others decades old.

The Tisas are the "U.S.Army" full size version, the "Carry" which is an enhanced commander size and a "Tanker" which is also commander size but only GI sights, trigger and hammer. All are series 70 internals and all have a polished feed ramp.

What I find really strange is that if I load a single round it always chambers correctly but if it is the last round of several it fails to feed. The symptom is nose to feed ramp and a tap rack will chamber the round. It's the same in both the longer slide and the two shorter slides pistols. Both magazines do lock slide open on empty. Finally whether I load two or five or seven or eight rounds the last round fails to feed.