What's new

Need soap recommendation: Slick and protective for neck

Background: I am fairly new at DE shaving and enjoying my daily ritual immensely. I have tried two soaps so far: Proraso white and Col Conk almond.

I have a small plastic food container that fits my palm for bowl lathering. I use a potato peeler to peel off some soap and mash about a 2 inch diameter circle of thin soap on the bottom of the container and add about a teaspoon of water on top of the soap. I wet my synthetic brush (RazoRock plissoft "Disruptor"), squeeze it so it's not dripping, and swirl in the container. As far as I can tell, I get a really nice lather from either soap: Not too runny but still seems wet enough. We have hard water.

Even with a mild razor and a not-too-sharp blade (Van Der Hagen short handle TTO with a Dorco ST-300 blade), I get neck irritation. To avoid the irritation, I have found that Shave Secret oil (about 3 drops, massaged into my neck) as well as combining the shave soap with Alba Botanica "very emollient" cream shave provides a slickness and protective layer that prevents neck irritation.

Recommendation request: it would be nice in the long term to be able to shave only with the soap and get the slickness and protection I need. Has anyone else had this problem and solved it with a soap? What are some recommendations for a very slick and protective shave soap?

Thanks!

StewB

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
I would try altering my technique (lighter pressure, try changing the angle of the handle either/both ways to see if that makes a difference) and razor blade choice. I'd get a sampler of 5-10 different blades.

Soap can make a difference, but you might be asking too much from soap.

I would try altering my technique (lighter pressure, try changing the angle of the handle either/both ways to see if that makes a difference) and razor blade choice. I'd get a sampler of 5-10 different blades.