What's new

Need information on my new Heljestrands. Pic heavy!

Hello all. I'm pretty new at straight shaving and have only been owning one straight I bought in december, but the other day I bought a set of hones I'm waiting to be delivered. Since I have bought hones I thought I needed more razors that I can practice honing on, so I have been hunting razors the last couple of days. Today my first 4 straights arrived in two boxes, I bought them all for something like $85 and they are in much better condition than I thought (excellent condition actually). I have however never seen any straights like them before and wonder if you guys have some info on the straights. I have been googling some and it seems like all 4 razors are Heljestrand framebacks.

The black ones seems to have scales made of tree (but I'm not sure) and the ivory coloured might be ivory?

Black razors

On one of the black shanks it says:
"C.V. HELJESTRAND"
"ESKILSTUNA"
"PRISBELÖNT"
"STOCKHOLM 1866"
"PARIS 1855"
"LONDON 1851"
"1867" (this is written without a city name beside it, could this be the production year?)

And on the side of the spine it says:
"HÖGBOM BESSEMER STÅL"

The other black has the same inscriptions except for "STOCKHOLM 1866" and "1867", this razor doesn't have any inscription on the spine.

Ivory coloured razors

On both the ivory coloured shanks it says:
"PRISBELÖNT"
"C.V. HELJESTRAND"
"ESKILSTUNA"
"PARIS 1855"
"LONDON 1851"

And on one of the ivory coloured blades it says:
"HÖGBOM BESSEMER STÅL"

My questions:

The black razors have a blank mirror finish on the blade but the ivory coloured have a matt finish on the blade, is it suposed to be matt or do you think I can clean them to be blank?

Are these razors good shavers?

Do you hone them as regular (none frameback) razors?

When do you think they were made?

Is it likely that the ivory coloured razors are made of ivory?

Did I pay a fair price for them?