What's new

Need Brisket smoking advice.

I bought a 17 lb brisket from costco. They had USDA prime for 2.99/LB!!!!! I couldn't pass it up. The dilemma I have is the my brisket has been sub par in the past. I have a MasterBuilt Gas smoker. I have put lava rocks over the burner so they simulate coals when they are hot. I use a mixture of Cherry, apple and pecan. I foil wrap the wood. The smoke part works well. I also have bluetooth digital temp probes so i can monitor everything. Now the bad part. It came out tougher and drier than we like. The whole thing. I smoked it at a constant 225 til it was around 190*. I have a water pan. I wrapped it in foil somewhere along the way, probably about 160, when it stops taking smoke. It stalled hard though. The thing I didn't do was spray it along the way. Is that important? Any other advice or technique suggestions are welcome as I want this try to be perfect.

Also, I was thinking of separating it into smaller pieces, vacuum sealing and freezing it for later cooking. Where is the best place to make the cuts so you don't lose anything flavor wise. Publix typically has smaller cuts, I just don't know where to cut it. Thanks everyone!

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
Sounds like you did everything right. The cow may have been upset and thrashing around when it was killed...like a deer shot when it's running is not as tender as one shot while it's grazing.

I usually take my briskets to 200 or 205 though. I've never sprayed mine.

To slice it for freezing, once you separate the flat from the point just slice it across the grain into how big of pieces you want...for slices serving size slice diagonally against the grain. I usually just use the point for pulled sandwiches.

kelbro

Alfred Spatchcock
Take it to 200 or 205. No need to spray. Ditch the water pan.