What's new

Need Assistance - Vintage razors

I am relatively new to D/E shaving, but love it. I currently have a Merkur HD and am using Derby blades (they seem more forgiving than the Merkur blades I started out with. The Merkurs seemed to cause me to shave rough - too much pulling and snagging). Seems like a good setup for me right now as I am learning the proper technique. But I digress. I have been reading many posts on B/B and see many posters extoll the virtures of older safety razors. So being a curious person, I went on Ebay and looked at all the vintage razors for sale. Boy am I confused.:confused: Can someone please educate/assist me in the art of selecting a quality vintage razor. I would be greatly appreciative of any and all assistance.:001_smile

Mark

Ah, but it is here it gets difficult.

What you might consider a good razor may be a bad razor to me and vice versa.

But for what its worth, I especially like the Fat Handled Tech. Good weight distribution and not to aggressive.
But to me any Tech is a nice razor.

The Fat Boy or Slim Adjustable are also a good razors, and you get the benefit to adjust it to your liking.

Hope it is a help :001_smile

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
I am relatively new to D/E shaving, but love it. I currently have a Merkur HD and am using Derby blades (they seem more forgiving than the Merkur blades I started out with. The Merkurs seemed to cause me to shave rough - too much pulling and snagging). Seems like a good setup for me right now as I am learning the proper technique. But I digress. I have been reading many posts on B/B and see many posters extoll the virtures of older safety razors. So being a curious person, I went on Ebay and looked at all the vintage razors for sale. Boy am I confused.:confused: Can someone please educate/assist me in the art of selecting a quality vintage razor. I would be greatly appreciative of any and all assistance.:001_smile

Mark