What's new

Natural hone collections.

I thought it would be fun to post a few of my natural hones here and encourage others to post theirs as well, hopefully expanding this thread into a large natural hone database for viewing, but also for commenting and general discussions regarding these hones...making it different than, say a wiki-database.
If others post theirs, i'd like to add more from my collection, maybe once a week? No doubt there are plenty to add and this can be a long, fun thread. :thumbup:

The first four i am listing are my La Dressante coticule, YellowLake oilstone, Nakayama and one of my Charnley Forest oilstones.

P.S. If this has been done before or in any way frowned upon, hopefully the moderators will step in and let me know...i am rather new to this particular forum.

Last edited:
I think this is a good idea for a thread.

In order after 1k bevel setter:
Ozuku Asagi/ Yaginoshima suita
full

full

both cover 3-8/10k range, but very different stones.
Ozuku us very buttery an smooth while honing, Yaginoshima is more chalky .
Both are very fast, but I prefer the Ozuku because I like the buttery feel better.

up to 20k
Shinden Suita

full

This one is so smooth one would think it does not hone at all.

Mejiro Nagura, takes on 1k edge easy.

full

Koma nagura for prepolishing:

full

those work very well with this Iwasaki Choice Nakayama:

full

Some other nakayamas I have:

Asagi

full

Kiita

full

One that I am not going to name ,but is very very rare
full

I have afew more that I will add later in the thread when I take pics.

Last edited by a moderator:
I posted my collection a few days ago, but I'll take another snap if I remember when I get off work.
I've got a half dozen Eschers, a handful of mystery stones, a couple jnats, a half dozen coti's, a yellow lake (same one as yours, box and all), a Water of Ayr, a bunch of arkansas/washita stones, a BBW, a MST thuringian, maybe a few more I'm forgetting.