What's new

My year long aftershave adventure: Part 1 - "Green" AS

For part one of this series I will review aftershaves in the "green" category, for lack of a better term. I am not a fragrance expert. I do not know what many of the terms used on sites such as Basenotes mean. My reviews will be in layman's terms for the most part. I picked this category because it was my first experience with aftershaves as a boy.

Skin Bracer: This is the aftershave my Dad used when I was a small boy. I can still remember watching him shave when I was about four or five years old. When he finished he would splash this on and I would then take the bottle and sniff it while he got dressed into a suit and tie for work. When I started shaving this was naturally the aftershave I used. That menthol and moisturizing goodness did the trick calming down the skin of a fifteen year old shaving novice. And it smelled so manly, just like Dad! This aftershave smells of fresh greenery and eucalyptus combined with a mild sweetness of vanilla to give it some class. Not pretentious, but not cheap smelling either. It is no wonder this has been popular for almost 90 years. A true classic.

Osage Rub: A true barbershop classic! Growing up this was what the barber would use after he shaved my neck and around the ears. Afterward he would take a barber towel and snap it around the neck to create a fan effect which heightened the cooling sensation. Made a sound similar to a shoeshine boy snapping his shoeshine rag. In some ways this is similar to Skin Bracer, but without the elegance of vanilla and other fragrances. It is straight up eucalyptus and super strength menthol, bracing and refreshing! The eucalyptus is genuine eucalyptus globulus oil. The scent does not last long, nor should it. This a a utilitarian tool in the shavers toolbox. I often use this to cool down a shave prior to applying a non menthol aftershave.