What's new

My xtg technique remains my issue.

Well I am new in De shaving, almost one month. I am really enjoying and improving.

I do two steps, WTG (with) and XTG (across). I have found out that I get burns and nicks only during the XTG. Probably it is fault of my cartridge razor experience as I never did XTG with that.

I try to keep my skin tight during XTG and used a couple of different blades, but I am not improving as I want. Fortunately the nicks are really small and also the irritation.

I am using a cheap Wilkinson sword razor and Astra stainless blades. Today tried Astor Stainless which are less sharp but I got two minor nicks.

Is it normal,? Any tips on improving? Could it be the razor type?

You might try watching PaulHFilms videos on YouTube. He uses a technique of making a double chin which works well for him. My face isn't quite symmetrical, so it only works for me on one side--but it works well there. He also shaves with just about any kind of razor and blade there is, so I'll bet that you can find videos to match your combination.

Your angle and/or pressure is possibly out. You may have mastered it WTG. But as you say you never shaved XTG in your cartridge days so pulling a razor across you're face in an unfamiliar direction whilst maintaining correct angle/pressure may take a bit more time.

Try taking really short strokes. When I first started DE I found I was more tempted to go for longer strokes XTG than I was WTG because it's a longer pass going east-west/west-east than it is north-south.

There could be few reasons for this, but two of the most obvious ones are too much pressure (I'm betting on this one) and potentially not reducing enough in your first WTG pass.

My first comment is that XTG is not required!

If you chose to go XTG, then concentrate on razor angle and NO pressure!