What's new

my thoughts on airgun shooting and accuracy

It's neat to see a couple airgun threads get so much traction. I won't go on as much as I'd like because I'm firing this off on a phone.

To be clear, I'm no expert; but airguns are my "thing" and I'm lucky to be part of a amazing and active airgun club. Southern Michigan Gun Club's Pneumatics airgun club

IMO the biggest limiting factor in accurate airgun shooting is the ballistic coefficient although slow pellet speed is also limiting. Supersonic pellets will not be accurate, and the ideal speed is usually about 880 FPS.

I have a gun capable of hitting 12 gauge hulls with good consistency at 100 yards, better shooters (esp with better guns) would seldom miss at that distance. I'm shooting 34 grain .25 cal pellets with a BC of probably less than .04. Most .22 rimfire ammo is going to have a BC of at least .1 maybe even approaching .15. As such, when shooting airguns every error in technique, or judgment (basically wind) is multiplied.

If your shooting bullets with an airgun, then all bets are off. Airguns that shoot bullets are a thing, but I've never seen one in person. They are highly modified airguns with very special valves and barrels. .257 is the size that seems most common. There are claims (I would need to see it to believe it) of out to 1000 yards. I've seen videos and believe claims of sub-MOA well past 400 yards with these guns.

Big bore airguns are generally not known for their accuracy. They are hunting guns and sub MOA at 100 yards is a special gun. It happens with consistency, but it's a fair amount of smithing and experimenting to find that accuracy. Ammo, twist, valves... everything needs to be perfect. Taking a deer at say 140-150 yards would be very impressive. That would generally be 3" or less from POA. I've never even heard about a match with guns like these.