What's new

My inability to Tech

Hello.

I've been wetshaving with safety razors since 2005, back in the days of Gordon and the Shavemyface forum.

I've aquired zillions of razors (Gillettes,Injectors, Gems,shavettes,Merkurs, Feather,etc etc etc) and have received great shaves with most of them, and discovered through the years that my face, especially neck, prefers a mild shave for daily work shaves.

Which naturally led me to the beloved mild Tech.

I own new in the box ones. Old rusty ones. Fat handles. Ball end handles. Travel. British. American. Indian. Pre and post war ones. The Feather ASD2, which is the modern expensive version of one, known for ultra smooth and mild shaves.

AND I CAN ALMOST NEVER GET A GOOD SHAVE FROM ONE.

Never smooth. Sometimes not even mild. I don't even know how to describe what is happening with my Tech shaves.
I'm actually jealous of others who keep talking about how great a shave they got from them.

I've tried different blades, angles, techniques, and I'm about ready to call it a day and just forget they exist.

Back to the trusty Slim Adjustable on level one or two for the daily mild shave.

I'm wondering if I'm just so used to the angles and approaches for almost EVERY OTHER RAZOR IN THE WORLD that it messes this one up. Obviously I'm missing something here lol.

Gordon and SMF. Sure brings back memories. On the opposite end, I’ve bought many Fatips and Plissons, most recently in February. But I still struggle with them. You would think after the first two I would have stopped, but no. I still look for excuses (opportunities) to aquire. It’s just the nature of this hobby. One day soon I will get an irritation free Fatip shave. I’m sure of it.

The Tech is a mild razor, and you may have coarse whiskers.

Shimming a Tech can help if you are into shimming. But if you zillions of razors, why not just select a more aggressive/efficient razor?
I've always been curious about shimming. Perhaps there are some good videos for it.