What's new

My first. First of everything.

Hello B&B. This my first real post. I collect J.A.Henckels, mostly kitchen knives as I'm a cook by trade, but I wanted to get a Henckels straight razor just to be a complete-ist. I found this on ebay for ~5 bucks:
k1.jpg

Good blade but broken scales.
I decided to re-scale it as I do re-handling kitchen knives as a hobby. I have some Purpleheart timber in my collection and as I know it's a hard wood I thought 'why not?' I re-used the original washer and 3 of the 4 brass collars(?) in the resto.
c002.jpg

The results were very satisfying.
c008.jpg

I still need to finish the scales a bit but overall I'm quite happy, and a bit surprised, with my first attempt. Original wedge re-used on this. I hope it's plastic and not ivory.
c009.jpg

Again, pretty happy with the results. I hope you like as well.
c010.jpg

No idea about sharpening these. They're sharp enough right now to saw off a few arms hairs but I'm not ready to put this to my throat.
c011a.jpg

PS. Anybody have any thoughts on the "Zwillingswerk" mark? As opposed to "Twinworks"?
Were these made in Germany exclusively for the the domestic, German, market? There's no Graef & Schmitt(sp?) stamps that would indicate a US distributor.

Very nice!

If it doesn't have a 'Germany' stamp on the tang, it wasn't made for export to the USA. I have a G&S Henckels, but I think plenty of other Henckels SRs were exported to the US after/without G&S.

Very nice!

If it doesn't have a 'Germany' stamp on the tang, it wasn't made for export to the USA. I have a G&S Henckels, but I think plenty of other Henckels SRs were exported to the US after/without G&S.
Thanks! From what I've found the Graef & Schmidt company was Henckels' distributor in NYC from like the 1920s to 1943 when the US gov't stepped due to WW2.

Welcome! Nice job! J.A. Henckels made terrific straight razors. Their Friodur brand of stainless steel razors are also excellent.