What's new

MWF/Williams - The Good, The Bad and The Ugly - A guide to better lather!

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I will try to show what Good, Bad and Ugly lather looks like using MWF and Williams. This thread is not intended to be a tutorial on how to make lather. All the tutorials are currently available here: http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/index.php/Lathers

This thread should help you diagnose how to make better lather and recognize bad lather. Keep in mind that I'm no expert in the lather department but I usually get decent lather.

I did 3 batches of lather with both soaps.

The first batch is too much water: The Bad
The second batch is too dry: The Ugly
The last batch will be to good lather: The Good.

Let's get started. Tools for today:
  • 1x Wilkinson Sword Bristle brush
  • 1x Lather bowl (1" deep x 3" diameter)
  • 1x MWF Soap (in the German army butter container / Center-bottom)
  • 1x Williams soap (in the mug / Middle-right)
attachment.php

Everything was soaked in warm water for 3-5 minutes between each batch. I used the bristle brush as most newbie will use a boar/bristle brush. This is a very cheap brush, less than $5.

MWF - The Bad
Starting with a lot of water
attachment.php

Right away, after a 20 seconds charge on the soap, you can see how big the bubbles are
attachment.php

Even the soap has big bubbles!
attachment.php

The end result after 3 minutes of mixing. The bubbles are still quite big!
attachment.php

The lather won't provide much protection...
attachment.php

MWF - The Ugly
Dry lather is another common problem

The soap and brush are very dry. I squeezed out all the water from the brush before I charged it. The soap was soaked in water and then turned upside down to get rid of the water.
attachment.php

After 1 minute of mixing and it's not coming together...
attachment.php

2 more minutes of mixing, still not good!
attachment.php