What's new

MWF Users Please Help

I have been using MWF for a couple of years.

Typically …. When I replace the puck, I will see it gradually expand.

Currently I am using a puck that is approximately 4-6 weeks old and have kept it moist.

My issue is that the puck hasn’t expanded at all and it hasn’t adhered to the bottom of the glass container.

It lathers normally but it’s annoying that it moves around every shave.

Is this puck a dud?

Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.

I don't know if you got a dud or knot, but I know I have the most success when the puck is well hydrated. I suspect that you have not been able to get it hydrated enough yet. Try getting some water on top of the puck, maybe even as much as 1/8" above the top, and allow that to soak in without pouring much if any off. It may take a few days.

I suspect that you have not been able to get it hydrated enough yet. Try getting some water on top of the puck, maybe even as much as 1/8" above the top, and allow that to soak in without pouring much if any off. It may take a few days.
So Hydrated! ..... until it's not. I'm convinced the stuff could literally petrify to archaeological proportions without hydration.

My issue is that the puck hasn’t expanded at all and it hasn’t adhered to the bottom of the glass container.
It lathers normally but it’s annoying that it moves around every shave.
Is this puck a dud?
Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.
I use MWF in a larger container on purpose. Just remove the puck, put some warm water in the container and drop the puck inside. Swash it around a few times then press it hard on the bottom of the container. Drain the excess water and leave it until next day. In my experience the puck will stay put. My container is stainless and this might not work with glass.