What's new

Mushroom hunting

Not a hunter of them, but do keep my eyes open. This was found on my lawn a little over a week ago.

8B632318-6C10-424A-9B86-3DBF49AC1A4A.jpeg

It’s not grown much since, with cold nights and rain for the most part.

Kilroy6644

Smoking a corn dog in aviators and a top hat
Not me. I like to eat mushrooms, and I like to walk in the woods, but for me the two don't mix. If you can put me on a big patch of morels, I'll be happy to pick them, but I don't want to go looking for them. If I go for a walk in the woods, I don't want to spend the whole time staring at the ground.

chanterelles here. bright yellow. 2 local deadlies are white. destroying angels and death caps. dont every do anything white.

have also gotten shaggy manes, angel wings, and bear tooth when with more experienced hunters.

All these morels are making me jealous. We usually get decent crops up here but this year they just didn't go. I have a degree in Mycology and I got my degree not for teaching or going into the field of work but for learning what I can and cannot eat culinary wise that is found wild in my area.

I was a keen picker of a few known varieties when I lived in NY and KY, but I haven't found anything edible since moving to Ireland. There's not a lot of forest here, what little there is seems to be mostly conifers, and almost all the mushrooms I've encountered walking through bogs have been pretty-but-inedible (lots of waxcaps) or toxic LBMs. Chicken of the Woods, if you can find it here, is potentially sick-making, growing on yew trees, so even the familiar, safe choices are a little dicey. I hold out hope for the springtime, though.

I pick all my mushrooms from the local Krogers. Those morels look like they would be easy to identify though. I guess too many years of reading stories of Southeast Asians - entire families sometimes - eating deathcaps.

-jim