What's new

Muhle Silvertip Fibre Medium VS Edwin Jagger Silvertip Medium

Hey guys,

Newbie here! I've been shaving with a safety razor for most of my shaving journey but only recently started to sport the no beard look, after almost 2 years without shaving. I currently have an Omega Hi Brush shaving brush which is made out of synthetic fiber. It is not very soft on the skin and I must say it does not seem like it lathers well. My lather is almost always kind of soapy and ends up drying up on my face before I have time shave there. I've tried lathering both on my face and in a bowl. Best result was today while lathering on my face with a proraso shaving cream. I think it's either the soap that is bad quality or my brush.

I've been looking into various types of brush and narrowed my choices down to the two brushes mentioned in the title; Muhle Silvertip Fibre Medium VS Edwin Jagger Silvertip Medium. I know these are two very different brushes but I'd like for anyone who has either one or the two of them to let me know of your experiences. I want something that if comfortable on skin and the medium factor is because I've seen the medium sized brushes tend to later better. Those are 2 pretty decent investments in terms of price but I want something durable and that'll better fit needs than the one I currently own. Thank you in advance for all the recommendations. I'm opened to other choices if you have further recommendations.

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
The Mühle Silvertip Fibre (STF) is one of the best synthetic brushes available.

When you say "Edwin Jagger Silvertip", I presume you are referring to Badger? If so, I do not have that particular brush. If you mean the Edwin Jagger Synthetic Silver Tip, that uses the same synthetic knot as the Mühle Silvertip Fibre (STF).

The Mühle Silvertip Fibre (STF) is one of the best synthetic brushes available.