What's new

Muhle R41 (ZAMAK head) changed

Some of you know I like to find the small differences in razors. Like you buy a 1968 Tech, and then you buy a 1962 that looks the same and it has a bigger gap.

I have been postponing this post, as I needed to receive a package with a 3rd R41 head of the new stock to have rock solid data. Mind you all my heads are original products that came in the original packaging and all. We are not talking Chinese imitations.

I have had two R41 heads, both bought in 2014. One a full razor and one bought as a spare. They are the 2013 version. I have checked that twice with the measurement data both here and on other forums.

In May 2020 I bought a third head from Cannaught. It went into the drawer and that was it.

In March 2021 I found the R41 head discounted at a Polish store and added one to my big order. The head arrived and I loaded a blade in it just to check. Since I have been shaving many times for 6 years with my old R41 bought in 2014, when I looked from below I noticed a smaller exposure. Grabbed the old 2014 razor loaded another blade from the same pack, and I was not imagining things. The exposure was less. So, logically I opened the drawer and got that 2020 head from Connaught. It was the same as the 2021. Less exposure. Yesterday I received another head and it is the same. Here are the measurements of cap and bottom plate.
Please measure the plate with the calipers at the middle teeth. Same applies for the cap. Measure at the middle. The width differes at the ends and the middle on both the cap and the bottom plate.

Cap new - 20.3mm
Cap old (2016) - 20.1mm

Plate new - 25.4mm
Plate old (2013) - 25.2mm

The change happened between 2014 and early 2020. By accurate measuring and checking when exactly you bought your R41, I believe we could narrow the period.